US imposes visa restrictions on four Portuguese-speaking countries - Plataforma Media

US imposes visa restrictions on four Portuguese-speaking countries

Entry guarantees can reach US $ 15,000

The citizens of Angola, Cape Verde, Guinea-Bissau and São Tomé and Príncipe will have to pay a guarantee of between five thousand and 15 thousand US dollars to be able to visit the United States, advances the portal Voa Português. Thus, Mozambique is the only Portuguese-speaking country in Africa not covered by the decision.

The deterrent measure, which takes effect on Christmas Eve, was taken under a temporary order issued by the US Department of State and is expected to last until June next year.

The idea put into practice by the Donald Trump administration covers several countries, most of them from Africa and is the way found by the Americans to fight abuses, since, says the State Department, the citizens of the countries in question “have high levels of violation of the terms of stay for their tourism and business visas ”.

In addition to the four countries, the USA also placed on the list the Democratic Republic of Congo, Liberia, Sudan, Chad, Burundi, Djibouti, Eritrea, Gambia, Mauritania, Burkina Faso, Libya, Afghanistan, Bhutan, Iran, Syria, Laos and Yemen.

Este artigo está disponível em: Português 繁體中文

Related posts

Biden says US forces would defend Taiwan in case of China invasion


Biden says Covid-19 pandemic is 'over' in US


US aircraft carrier enters China Sea under tension over Taiwan


Biden says he can call Xi Jinping this week

Assine nossa Newsletter